Recent Events and Tournaments

Tuesday Men Sharks Trophy and Prizegiving - 1st December

The Tuesday Men's group plays at 10am every Tuesday, and run a number of tournaments and events during the year, including an annual eclectic. The group continues to play through the summer, just roll up any Tuesday before 9:30am for disc draw. The haggle is $8 (plus green fees for non-members).

Tuesday 1st December was the annual "Sharks Trophy", which is a four-ball combined stableford, along with pairs combined stableford, gross, net, and par competitions. The year's trophies were also handed out.


Sharks trophy winners with the Club Captain - left to right Tony Newling (Captain), Brian O'Donnell, Mike Tate, Peter Clarke, Peter Holmes.


Lion Tankard winners of best combined stableford, Peter Edwards and Steve Parkin.


Abraham Plate winner for best stableford, John Saulbrey with Tony Newling.


Eagles salver winner for best gross, Karl de Graaf with Tony Newling.


Club President and Tuesday co-ordinator Ivan Franklin with Ngaire Hunter. Thanks to Ngaire for all her help during the year.

Not pictured: O'Neill cup winner for low Nett, Rob Gibbard; and Ferritti cup winner for best par, Tony Newling. Winners of the top dogs 4BBB for the year were Peter Clarke and Ian King.

Ladies' 6*6*6 - 20th November

The annual Women's Open Pairs was held on Friday 20th November with 52 ladies participating. Many thanks to principal sponsor Robert Ward Plumbing, and associate sponsors Comfort Socks, New World; and donors Donna Everton, Mary Keenan, Diane Dunlop and the ladies members.


Division 1 winners Margaret Hooper and Cheryl Arthur, with club president Val Smith.



Division 2 winners Mary Keenan and Jan Bayliss, with club president Val Smith.

Monthly Medal Finals, Sponsored by Lifetime - 14th November

Congratulations to the winners Sue Staples and Corey Harris, and congratulations to all finalists. Our sincere thanks to sponsors Lifetime Advice for Life and particularly John and Clare Sorensen.


9 Hole Open Day - 9th November

115 9-hole golfers participated in the Levin Open Day, sponsored by Lucy's Bins.  Players came from Feilding, Foxton, Kapiti, Levin, Manawatu, Manor Park, Marton, Otaki, Palmerston North, Paraparaumu Beach, Royal Wellington, and Waikanae.  Although cool, the rain stayed away and a good day was had by all.

All the prize winners with Club President, Ivan Franklin.


Gross prize winner Lucy Montgomery, Club President Ivan Franklin, and Men's gross prize winner Roydon McLeod.



Runner Up

Ladies Gross

Lucy Montgomery (Levin)  

Judy Gregory (Feilding)

Men's Gross

Roydon McLeod (Manor Park)

Russell Parker (Feilding)

Ladies Front 9 Stableford

Marie O'Brien (Manawatu)

Rae-Ann Beaman (Palmerston North)

Ladies Back 9 Stableford

Judy Gregory (Feilding)

Julie Simpson (Waikanae)

Men's Front 9 Stableford

Vinton Chadwick (Otaki)

Glenn Williams (Foxton)

Men's Back 9 Stableford

Michael Christensen (Levin)   

Greg Wood (Levin)


HMC Scramble - 7th November

On Saturday 7th November, we held the HMC Levin Scramble (formerly known as the Holden Scramble), with 27 teams participating. Thanks to major sponsor HMC Levin, and sponsors Diesel & Turbo, Comfort Socks, Oxford Finance, UDC Finance, and Heartland Bank. Thanks to all who participated and we look forward to seeing all of you, plus a few more, at next year's event scheduled for late October.

The first tee at Levin with HMC Levin cars.


Lowest gross score winners with our major sponsor (left to right) Jeremy Davidson, (Gary McKelvie, sponsor), Bradley McSherry, Mike McSherry from Palmerston North.


Lowest net score winners with our major sponsor (left to right) (Gary McKelvie, sponsor), Rick Judd, Lucy Montgomery, and Mu Matakatea from Levin.

Full results of the tournament are available here.

Club Championships

Congratulations to all the winners of the Club Championships, concluded on Sunday 1st November.



Runner Up

Senior Men

Geoff Beaumont

Denzil Viper Tatana

Intermediate Men

Aku Biddle

Tony Newling

Senior Women

Clare Sorensen

Rosie Priest

Bronze Women

Carol Louisson

Jo Parker

Junior Men

Bruce Smith

Rod Batchelar

Masters Men

Alistair Finn

Gerald Harpur

Junior B Men

Ivan Franklin

Thomas Huria

9 Hole Men

Tony Ahie

Max Simmons

9 Hole Ladies

Lucy Montgomery

Helen Latham


Pictured Left to Right: Ivan Franklin, Carol Louisson, Lucy Montgomery, Dan Brizzle (Patron), Clare Sorensen, Alistair Finn, Bruce Smith, Geoff Beaumont, Aku Biddle, Val Smith (Board Chair), Tony Ahie

Aegis Tankard - Pairs Stableford

The Thursday men Aegis Tankard pairs stableford competition concluded on Thursday 22nd October. Pictured are the winners, John Saulbrey and Bruce Smith. The runners up were Gerald Harpur and Gavin Jones, whose last round of 47 points came close to challenging the leaders.

Aegis Shield - Individual Stableford

The Thursday men Aegis Shield individual stableford competition concluded on Thursday 30th July. Pictured is the winner, Geoff Beaumont. The runner up was John Saulbrey.


Gold Coast Vets

Levin Golf Club was proud to host the NZ Vets Gold Coast tournament from 31st August to 4th September. A field of 50 enjoyed mostly fine weather, apart from a dirty day on Tuesday.

Thanks to our sponsors Summerset Retirement Villages for their generous support.



Men's DCL Cup

The DCL Cup was completed on Saturday 29th August. John Saulbrey won, with runner up Mark Duston. Full results available to members from here.

Atkinson Trophy - Mixed Canadian Foursomes

A small field contested the 2020 Atkinson Trophy on Sunday 23rd August 2020. Pictured are the winners Chris and Tony Newling (net 67.2). Runners-up were Rob and Leanne Ward (71.6).


Thursday Men's Owing Cup

The Owing Cup match play was completed on Thursday 20th August 2020. Doug Mitchell defeated Graeme Cliff for the cup. Flights winner was Gerald Harpur who defeated Mark Duston.

Men's Karakamea Cup and Squires Trophy

The finals of the Karakamea Cup were held on Saturday 15th August. John Saulbrey defeated Tony Newling 4&3. The flights final (Squires Trophy) was taken out by Peter Johnson, defeating Rob Gilberd 2&1.


John Saulbrey (right) with the Karakamea Cup, and Peter Johnson (left) with the Squires Trophy.

Previous Year Results

Previous year's events and results are available for earlier in 20202019, 2018, 2017, and 2016.