2019 Events
2019 Events

2019 Events

Ladies' 6x6x6 Tournament

A large field played in the ladies' 6x6x6 tournament on Friday 22nd November 2019. Pictured are the winners:


1st Division Claire Chapman and Rosie Priest - Levin.


2nd Division Anne Schnell and Jane Bolton-Riley - Feilding.

2019 Champion of Champions

Congratulations to Carol Louisson who went on the win The ManWang District Gross Championship on Sunday 7 November.


Congratulations to Keiran Giddens who won the Junior Champion of Champions.

2019 Club Championships

The 2019 Club Championships concluded in November. Congratulations to all the winners and runner-ups, pictured below.


18 hole winners from left to right: Shirley Calder (Bronze 2), Carol Louisson (Bronze 1), Rosie Priest (Silver), Cameron Giddens (Senior), Gerald Harpur (Intermediate), Owen Bonis (Masters), Kieran Giddens (Junior). It is great credit to the junior program that we had two young winners and one young runner-up.


9 hole Ladies' Winner Eunok Kim (left) and Runner Up Helen Latham.

9 hole Men's Winner Peter Price (left) and Runner Up Stewart Thompson.

Junior Golf Donation

We are very grateful to Johnny and Carol Baker (owners of Manawatu Log Transport) who have donated 3 trundlers to the junior golf section. The kids were delighted with the new equipment.


Carol Baker pictured with some of the juniors.

Glendinning Cup

The Glendinning cup was played at Levin Golf Club on Sunday 15th September under clearing blue skies but boy was it windy.

So in pretty tough conditions the cup was retained by Buckley Golf Club with a team score of 141. 2nd were Apiti on 139 and in 3rd on countback were Linton Camp on 136.

A great day of golf on a fabulous golf course.


Atkinson Trophy

The Atkinson Trophy was held on Sunday 25th August 2019. 8 pairs took part on a fine if blustery day.

  • 1st - Peter Johnson and Joanne Wilton-Eadie, net 66
  • 2nd - John and Clare Sorensen, net 69
  • 3rd - Robert and Leanne Ward, net 73
  • 4th - Les and Cheryl Arthur, net 79

Pictured are the winners, Peter Johnson and Joanne Wilton-Eadie.


Karakamea Cup and Squires Cup

Pictured are Steve Leppard (left) winner of the Squires trophy, and John Sorensen (right), winner of the 2019 Karakamea cup.

Manawatu-Wanganui versus Wellington

Levin hosted the Manawatu-Wanganui versus Wellington tournament on Sunday August 4th. Pictured below are the field.

Horowhenua Open

The 36 hole Horowhenua Open was held on Sunday 16th July. The competition started under foggy conditions but the day got better and the golf was played under clear blue skies for the most part of the day. The field included players from as far away as Auckland.


We had joint winners in both the ladies' and mens' gross divisions.


Pictured are joint gross division winners:

  • Ladies' joint winners Tara Raj and Lisa Herbert
  • Mens' joint winners Tyler Hodge and Paxton Jones

Ladies' Net division winners:

  1. Rianne Li
  2. Sera Raj
  3. Mimi Guo

Mens' Net division winners:

  1. Sam Kauika
  2. Shaun Millard
  3. Ben Harwood

Queen's Birthday Weekend Tournament

Three great days at Levin Golf Club for the Queens birthday tournament. Saturday and Sunday were both played in high winds but Monday was a frosty start followed by a glorious day with blue skies.




MOUTERE competition:

  • 1st winner on count back: Leanne and Robert Ward from Levin, 130 points.
  • 2nd on countback: Cheycoda Cocks from Mahunga and Cameron Giddens from Levin, 130 points.
  • 3rd: Cath and Jeremy Simpson from Waikanae, 127 points.
  • 4th: Brydie and Marty Hodge from Levin, 125 points.

TARARUA competition:

  • 1st: Maurice Rose and Linda Watkins from Otaki, 133 points.
  • 2nd: Perry White and Jennifer Bennett from Miramar, 132 points.
  • 3rd: Robyna and Graeme Aitken from Paraparaumu Beach, 131 points.
  • 4th: Diane Dunlop and Mark Duston from Levin, 125 points.

2019 Aegis Cup

The Aegis Cup was completed in May. Congratulations to joint winners Ray Grout and Brian Wicker with 112 points (best 3 of 4 stableford rounds). Runners up on 109 points were Graeme Cliff and Klaas de Graaf.


Pictured: winners of Aegis Cup with Club Captain. Left to Right: Brian Wicker, Marcus Anderson, and Ray Grout.

2019 Fire Service Tournament

Levin Golf Club was proud to host the 2019 Fire Service annual tournament over 5 days from 1st to 5th April 2019.  125 Fire Service personnel participated.  The schedule for the week was practice day on Monday, Ambrose on Tuesday, individual competitions on Wednesday and Thursday and foursomes on Friday.

The course was in excellent condition with some excellent scores achieved. Best Gross was Andy Murdie from Apiti who shot 76 followed by 70 gross.

High praise and thanks to the green keepers, caterer, staff & volunteers who all contributed to make this an awesome week. Great to see the course and clubhouse well utilised.


2019 4BBB Tournament

Held from 23rd February to 6th April 2019.


Pictured:  Winners Ron Gibbard and Peter Holmes.

Runners up were Bruce Smith & John Saulbrey.  Flight winners were David Louisson & Gerald Harpur.


9 Hole Hunter-Veltman Foursome Shields

The 9 Hole Hunter-Veltman Foursome Shields were played for at Levin on Friday 29th March, 2019. Winners from left to right, were:

Mens division: Peter Price, Dave Douglas (Levin). Mixed division: Linda Hair, Doug Hipkins (Waikanae). Ladies division: Barbara Smith, Marie O'Brien (Manawatu). The Ladies required a chip off against Mavis Yee & Raewyn Young, (Otaki) to decide the winners.

Horowhenua Lefties Tournament

The Horowhenua Lefties tournament was held on the weekend of February 23 and 24, 2019. The winners were presented their trophies by Richard Davison, President of the World lefthanders Association.

Geoffrey Ingram, Winner of the gross division, with Richard.

Bart Krynen, Winner of the nett division, with Richard.

Barry Hughes, Winner of the stableford division, with Richard.

Ladies winners, Harriet Byelich and Audrey Messenger, with Richard.

Harriet Byelich, Winner of the Ladies' stableford division, with Richard.

2018/2019 Summer Cup

Congratulations to the winners of the Summer Cup. Trophies were presented by Marcus Anderson on Saturday 2nd March 2019.

Winner: Gerald Harpur - 156 points, pictured with club captain Marcus Anderson.

Runner up: Roger Perring - 155 points

Third place: Tama Paki - 150 points

Full results are available here.

ITM Classic Tournament

The Crichton ITM Men's Classic tournament was held on Waitangi Day, Wednesday 6th February. A field of 21 enjoyed a warm day.

Club captain Marcus Anderson congratulates winner of the gross division, Shaun Millard.

Club captain Marcus Anderson congratulates winner of the nett division, Kieran Giddens.


Winner stableford division, Steven Dearne (Te Marua) with Marcus.

Runner up stableford division, Robert Ward with Marcus.

Third place, stableford division, Russ Baldwin with Marcus.

Fourth place stableford division, Robert Eadie with Marcus.